Still horse crazy after all these years…

Posted on April 29, 2007. Filed under: childhood, Horse Rescue, Horses, HRT, Matt Lauer, Personal, POST, Premerin, Premerin ponies, Thoughts |

Now that Matt Lauer has moved onto his infomercial for the travel industry, I can turn to a different, and personally more satisfying obsession: HORSES!

port.jpgport.jpgport.jpgport.jpg

Last night, I saw a PBS documentary on Proud Spirit, a horse sanctuary in Arkansas. I realized just how horse crazy I still am.

phoenixbefore.jpg

It all began when I read Black Beauty. This is who and where I wanted to be when I was about 7 years old:

young_black_beauty1.jpg

Since a real pony and a change of environment weren’t in the cards, I started obsessively collecting books and plastic horse models.

palomino.jpgsaddlebred-silver-charcoal.jpgbay.jpg

But I didn’t really meet one until I went to Vermont to visit relatives of my mother’s, who raised Morgan horses. I was 7 or 8 at the time, and those horses were very tall! Also, I had never been near a stable before and wasn’t used to the smell of horse manure. There were a lot of men around, stable hands who seemed kind of aloof. Needless to say, the reality of this first encounter did not match the fantasy.

morgan-horse-edit.jpg

I didn’t meet my next horse until my family moved to a suburban neighborhood just this side of rural, and there was a field with a cranky pony living in it who bit my thigh when I tried to feed it roses. The bruise, really a huge blood blister, covered most of my thigh and hip. But even so I liked that pony; I could see he had a point of view.

horse-eye.jpg

I didn’t find myself around horses again until I moved to Santa Barbara, and got it in my head that I wanted to ride English style. I took lessons for a while but never really got the hang of it, or rather I never got over the fear of being thrown.

dressage-edit.jpg

I did befriend one horse, a quarter horse named Port, who had a reputation for being arrogant, but for some reason he liked me. He had the most beautiful canter, but he did not like to gallop. I used to groom and exercise him and ride him around the ring until the lessons got too expensive and I had to stop.

Oddly enough, I somehow got on the subject of Port at dinner the other night, and then when I came home and saw the PBS documentary on horse rescue, my memories all started to come back to mingle with feelings of love and the fear, and then revulsion, when they started talking about Premerin ponies.

horse-meat-01_small.jpg

horse-meat-06_small.jpg

horse-pmu-07_small.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fantasy meets reality, indeed.

 

wild-horses.jpg

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

8 Responses to “Still horse crazy after all these years…”

RSS Feed for theories of mine Comments RSS Feed

hej är det ok om jag tar och kopierar denna bilden och sätter in som bild på min häst på http://www.stallet.se

I hear you…being a horse crazy person myself. I don’t have the finances to get a horse but everybody in my family still laughs at me because as we drive down a road I watch every single horse we pass along the way…and i’m now 25 and have ridden in horse shows, and trained horses since I was around 10 years old. The appreciation will never leave and its the one true thing about me which I can say is “me”. My mind changes about anything else…horses stay the same lol.

i also no what you are saying im so horse carzy i own a showjumper called waverley she is a loverly 16.2 bay mare i would do any thing for her i also have just sold my 14.2 coloured cob called jim just over 8 months ago i was so upset n still am not over him i really wont him back but hes settaled with a family now i do hacking, schooling, hunting, showjumping, showing in hand n riden.
i sponser a charity called red wings that also helps abused horses find safe and loveing homes wich i think every horse deseves. p.s i love ur wesite its really nice makes you think how yourself got into horses and how my life changed when i brought them into mine. love paris moore aged 16 xx

Nice!

im crazy about horses and i really want to go to this horse camp but my parents wont let me because its too expensive…..ny ideas?

You’ve made some decent points there. I looked on the web for more information about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this website.

You post very interesting articles here. Your website deserves much bigger audience.
It can go viral if you give it initial boost, i know very useful tool that can help you, just search in google: svetsern traffic
tips

Hey there! I am aware that is considerably away from topic although My partner and i seemed to be thinking in case you knew where I could have a captcha plugin intended for my review type? I’m while using the exact same weblog system seeing that the one you have and also I’m acquiring issues acquiring just one? Thanks a lot!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...